Newsletter Registration


3 Finalists for NordicBet MVP Trophy announced


After a week of voting, Europe’s hockey fans have nominated three finalists that are now battling for the award. To vote for the winner, click HERE.

The second leg of the CHL Semi-Finals is coming up, which also means time for the final round in the NordicBet MVP Trophy, the award that honours the Most Valuable Player in the Champions Hockey League.

The three remaining players in competition for the NordicBet MVP Trophy are Joel Lundqvist, (Frolunda Gothenburg), Lukas Pech (Sparta Prague) and Yannick Rathgeb (Fribourg-Gotteron). The final winner will be announced during the CHL Final on Tuesday, 7 February. 

The finalists of the NordicBet MVP Trophy have been elected by thousands of hockey fans after the first selection of five players by the expert jury. Each nominee’s votes are now returned to 0 and the final voting of the three remaining players starts over from today. Fans can vote until Sunday, 5 February HERE

Both the hockey fans and the expert jury will choose the final winner, where both parties have equal power of 50 percent each.  

The jury consists of Johan Svensson (aka “Mr Madhawk”, the biggest hockey blogger in Sweden), CHL Sports Director Bo “Kulon” Lennartsson, journalist and author Daniel Nilsson-Padilla, Swedish sports journalist Mårthen Bergman and Dennis Kjellin from NordicBet.

For the third consecutive year, sports betting company NordicBet will present the award. NordicBet is also an official partner of the CHL.

Previous NordicBet MVP Trophy winners:

2015-16: Ryan Lasch, Frolunda Gothenburg
2014-15: Mathis Olimb, Frolunda Gothenburg