Newsletter Registration

Kometa Brno

Kometa Brno (KOM)

Club Address
Křídlovická 34
Brno 603 00
Czech Republic

Front Office Staff

Libor Zábranský
Egbert F. Zündorf
Sports Director
Jaroslav Medlík
Executive Director
Mgr. David Trunda
Sales/Marketing Dir
Lenka Plšková
Media Manager
Michal Chylík

Coaching Staff

Head Coach
Libor Zábranský


National titles:
12 – 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 2017

European Cup titles:
3 - 1966, 1967, 1968

Last Five Seasons

2016–17: 6th regular season, Champions
2015-16: 9th regular season, Preliminary Round
2014-15: 3rd regular season, Semi-Finals
2013-14: 6th regular season, Runners-Up
2012-13: 11th regular season

About the club

A first Czech championship since 1966 sparked wild celebrations in Brno in 2017, and also earned them a place in the 2017/18 Champions Hockey League. The team had come close to glory in 2012 and 2014, ending as losing finalists on both occasions. The name Kometa Brno is relatively recent, being adopted by the team in 1994. Before then, the club was known as Rudá hvězda Brno, ZKL Brno, HC Zetor Brno, HC Královopolská Brno during different times in its history. The club's most successful period was back between 1954 and 1966, when star players such as Vlastimil Bubník, Vladimír Nadrchal, Josef Černý and Bronislav Danda were part of a Brno club that won 11 titles in the old Czechoslovak league. Kometa jointly holds the record for the most Czech titles with 12, along with Dukla Jihlava. In 2009 returned to the Czech top flight after 13 seasons outside it - including one in the third tier of Czech hockey in 2002/03. Since being back in the Extraliga, however, Kometa enjoy big crowds, regularly pulling over 7000 fans to their home games.

Follow Kometa Brno

Home venue

DRFG Arena

Křídlovická 34
Brno 603 00
Czech Republic