You can reach the CHL staff at
(For technical support please use the contact form.)

Martin Baumann

Martin Baumann brings a wealth of business and start-up experience to the newly founded Champions Hockey League, primarily from the international private banking sector where he was responsible for executing start-up operations in Germany, Italy, Spain, Dubai and Hong Kong, with earlier banking management roles in London and New York. Baumann earned his Executive MBA with the Business University of Lucerne, Switzerland. In his spare time Baumann is an active endurance athlete. He joined the Champions Hockey League in March 2014.

Szymon Szemberg

COO & Communications director
Szymon Szemberg has been involved in various capacities in all IIHF-sanctioned club events since joining the IIHF in 2001; Continental Cup, European Champions Cup, the 2008-2009 Champions Hockey League and the 2008 and 2009 Victoria Cup, with NHL-participation. Szemberg was the Project Lead for the Barcelona Hockey Forum 2012 which led to the founding of the new Champions Hockey League two years later. He also headed the project from 2012 until the CHL’s operational start in March 2014, and at the same time assumed the current position with the Champions Hockey League.

Patrick Jost

Marketing and Event director
Patrick Jost is a sports marketing expert with almost two decades experience in the sports industry. He assumed various executive positions for high-profile properties such as the UEFA Champions League, UEFA EURO and America’s Cup. As one of the initiators, Jost had also been involved in the first edition of the CHL and Victoria Cup. He re-joined the Champions Hockey League in March 2014.

Bo Lenartsson

Sport director
Bo Lennartsson has held leadership roles in hockey since the early 80s. He has coached the Swedish powerhouse Färjestad Karlstad to two national championships and two silver medals. Lennartsson’s coaching career also included two years with the Swedish national junior team. He was later Färjestad’s Director of Player Development before becoming Tournament Director of the European Trophy 2010-2013. He was an integral part of the process which saw the European Trophy successfully being integrated into the Champions Hockey League.

European Ice Hockey Club Competition - Company info

The European Ice Hockey Club Competition AG (EICC) is a company established in 2013 in Switzerland that holds all rights of the Champions Hockey League and organises the competition. EICC is an AG (Aktiengesellschaft = Ltd.) registered in Zurich under Swiss Law. As such the EICC is owned by shareholders and governed by a board which is elected by the CHL General Meeting, the league’s legislative body.

The shareholding structure of the company is as follows:

  • 26 Founding Clubs: 63%
  • 6 Founding Leagues:25%
  • IIHF:12%

The shareholders of EICC have, through the General Meeting, appointed the following board and respective shareholder representatives. The board is the CHL’s executive body.


ChairmanAnders Ternbom (SWE)
CEO of HUB, the association of the Swedish Founding Clubs of the CHL
ClubsRupert Zamorsky (AUT)
Head of Marketing for EC Red Bull Salzburg
Peter Zahner (SUI)
CEO of ZSC Lions Zurich
Petr Briza (CZE)
GM of Sparta Prague, former Czechoslovak national team goalie
Peter John Lee (GER)
GM of Eisbären Berlin
Timo Everi (FIN)
Chairman of IFK Helsinki
LeaguesChristian Feichtinger (AUT)
CEO of the Erste Bank Eishockey Liga (EBEL)
Gernot Tripcke (GER)
General Manger of the Deutsche Eishockey Liga (DEL)
IIHFKalervo Kummola (FIN)
Vice-President, Europe, International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF)

EICC Founding Members

The founding members and subsequent group of shareholders can be summarized as set out below.

  • 26 Founding Clubs
  • 6 Founding Leagues
  • International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF)

Founding Clubs (A-License)

These are clubs that have: an established record of sportive excellence; contributed to the development of ice hockey in their country; solid financial status and organisation; developed infrastructure, and can thus be considered as worthy representatives of their country and league in the CHL. These clubs are mainly, but not limited to, those who have been instrumental in developing the European Trophy competition and who have over a period of time invested effort and funds into that competition.

Founding Leagues (B-License)

These are clubs that are not "A" Licensed clubs but that are national champions or regular season winners from a Founding League from the previous season or as per appointment according to a performance related formula where finishing among the top four teams in the playoffs of their domestic league is a minimum requirement.

A B-License is awarded to clubs for one season only.

IIHF (C-License)

These are also called Wild Card Clubs; these may be clubs that are previous winners of the Champions Hockey League, champions from leagues outside of the Founding Leagues or other deserving clubs, and are appointed as per CHL Board decision. It is the CHL’s objective via the Wild Card system, to contribute to the development of European club ice hockey by having an internationally as diverse as possible participation field.

You can read more about the licencing model here

League format for 2014/15 season